Announcing the Winners of the 2019 Chancellor’s Awards for Civic Engagement

Sent Thursday, April 12, 2019

To the Campus Community:

Every day, Rutgers University–Camden works to advance the communities of southern New Jersey and the region.

In recognition of the many extraordinary efforts associated with our civic engagement initiatives, I am pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 Chancellor’s Awards for Civic Engagement. We will celebrate the accomplishments of these honorees during a special reception on campus at 5 p.m. Tuesday, April 23. If you wish to attend, please register online.

The Rutgers University–Camden community is dedicated to supporting the citizens of New Jersey as they solve problems, meet challenges, and seize opportunities. Our students, faculty, staff, and alumni make good on that commitment in their Rutgers roles and as members of communities and organizations of all kinds. Rutgers University–Camden continues to expand its reputation as a national model for civically engaged universities.

The Chancellor’s Awards for Civic Engagement honor those who have achieved special distinction in this area. The awards also serve to call attention to the very good work being done by thousands of members of the Rutgers–Camden community, in our host city and throughout our region and nation.

This year, we are delighted to honor George and Washington Hill, twin brothers raised in Camden and distinguished Rutgers University–Camden alumni, whose vision and generosity led to the founding of the Hill Family Center for College Access on our campus.

The 2019 award recipients are:

Lifetime Achievement
Dr. George Hill CCAS’61
Dr. Washington Hill CCAS’61

Academic Civic Engagement
Dr. Melissa Fender (part-time lecturer, SBC-management)
Prof. Angel Osorio (lecturer, FASC-urban studies)
Gender Advocacy and Juvenile Justice I and II:

  • Dr. Jane Siegel (professor, FASC-criminal justice)
  • Dr. Michelle Meloy (professor, FASC-criminal justice)
  • Gaylene Gordon (teaching assistant, FASC-criminal justice)
  • Michelle Lyttle-Storrod (teaching assistant, FASC-childhood studies)
  • Amy Cruz (criminal justice)
  • David Cruz (criminal justice)
  • Elitsandro DeLeon (criminal justice)
  • Yarelis Diaz (criminal justice)
  • Gabrielle Spence (criminal justice/public administration)
  • Tiasia Tatem (criminal justice)
  • Erica Westman (criminal justice)
  • Gabrielle Winter (criminal justice/political science)

Student Civic Engagement
Nikia Clark (law)
Ashlyn Elliott (social work/urban studies)
Kimberly Flores (marketing/management)
Taylor John (global health and policy)
Claire Newsome (law)
Angela Wismar (psychology)

Cooper Civic Leadership
Nidhi Baxi (biology)

Alumni Civic Engagement
David Roeber RLAW’09

Community Partner
I Dare to Care Association (ID2C)
LUCY (Lifting Up Camden’s Youth) Outreach

Faculty-Staff Civic Engagement
Dr. Shanyn Fiske (associate professor, FASC-English)
Dr. Eliezer Marcellus (assistant dean, Office of Academic Advising)

Community-Engaged Scholarship
Dr. Ana Laguna (associate professor, FASC-Spanish)
Prof. Dana Pilla (assistant teaching professor, FASC-Spanish)
Dr. Nancy Pontes (assistant professor, SNC)

Spirit of Civic Engagement
Dr. Kevin Emmons (clinical associate professor, SNC)
Dr. Cameron Whitley (coordinator, Office of Diversity and Inclusion)
George Wood (Ignite program cycling instructor, Office of Civic Engagement)

Please join me in congratulating the recipients of the 2019 Chancellor’s Awards for Civic Engagement.

Phoebe A. Haddon, J.D., LL.M.

Posted in: No Show

Comments are closed.