Announcing the Winners of the 2018 Chancellor’s Awards for Civic Engagement

Sent Monday, April 9, 2018

To the Campus Community:

Every day, Rutgers University–Camden works to advance the communities of southern New Jersey and the region.

In recognition of the many extraordinary efforts associated with our civic engagement initiatives, I am pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 Chancellor’s Awards for Civic Engagement. We will celebrate the accomplishments of these honorees during a special reception on campus at 5 p.m. Thursday, April 26. If you wish to attend, please register online.

The Rutgers University–Camden community is dedicated to supporting the citizens of New Jersey as they solve problems, meet challenges, and seize opportunities. Our students, faculty, staff, and alumni make good on that commitment in their Rutgers roles and as members of communities and organizations of all kinds. Rutgers University–Camden continues to earn an expanding reputation as a national model for civically engaged universities.

The Chancellor’s Awards for Civic Engagement honor those who have achieved special distinction in this area. The awards also serve to call attention to the very good work being done by thousands of members of the Rutgers–Camden community, in our host city and throughout our region and nation.

The 2018 recipients are:

Academic Civic Engagement
Dr. David Dwertmann (assistant professor, SBC-management)
Prof. Steven Pyser (part-time lecturer, SBC)
Prof. Meredith Schalick (clinical professor, RLAW)

Community-Engaged Scholarship
Dr. Stephen Danley (assistant professor, FASC-public policy)
Dr. Charlene Mires (professor, FASC-history and director, MARCH)
Dr. Sylvia Perez-Cortes (assistant professor, FASC-Spanish)

Student Civic Engagement
Joanna Gardner
Karanveer Pannu
Brandon Pugh
Liz Ramos
Yeilyne Rodriguez
Nitan Shanas
Melissa Velez
Students from Dr. Courtenay Cavanaugh’s Violence Against Women course: Justin Addison, Rachel Andrews, Jessica Diperzio, Darris Drennon, Chennel Gardiner, Lauren Giest, Kristina Harris, Bryanna Prentice, Michaela Puryear, Samantha Tompoe, David Velez, Lisa Zibuda
Law School VITA Tax Prep Pro Bono Site Leaders: Spencer Chorney, Jim Clancy, Blair Gerold, Kristen Kispert

Cooper Civic Leadership Award
Shenelle Alexander

Faculty/Staff Civic Engagement
Diseree Tyler (administrative assistant, Office of Housing and Residence Life)

Spirit of Civic Engagement
Student Heroes: Tammy Meneses, Sehwan (Ricky) Park, Jonathan Perez, Matteo Resanovic, Vanessa Solis-Palma, Corey Zytko
Office of Housing and Residence Life
Student Health Services

Alumni Civic Engagement
Daryl Johnson CCAS’84
Robert Ransom RLAW’16
Craig Roscoe CCAS’13, SSW’16

Community Partners
Camden Lutheran Housing
New Visions Homeless Day Shelter
Parkside Business and Community in Partnership
South Jersey Legal Services

Please join me in congratulating the recipients of the 2018 Chancellor’s Awards for Civic Engagement.

Phoebe A. Haddon, J.D., LL.M.

Posted in: No Show

Comments are closed.